LA Film Critics Association’s Awards 2012

December 9th, 2012 - Graham Eley

Congratulations to The LA Film Critics Association for showing some independence of thought in awarding best film to Michael Haneke’s ‘Amour’.  It boasted an outstanding performance from one of cinema’s most distinguished actresses, Emmanuelle Riva as a dementia victim and she shared best actress with Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook).  There was an equally strong performance from Jean-Louis Trintignant as her dignified husband but it seems unlikely to gain the same recognition in the awards season.


The Master picked-up four awards in categories where it could feature strongly in the coming months – best director (Paul Thomas Anderson), best actor (Joaquin Phoenix), best supporting actress (Amy Adams) and best production design (David Crank and Jack Fisk).




Picture: ‘Amour’

Runner-up: ‘The Master’


Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, ‘The Master’

Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, ‘Zero Dark Thirty’


Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, ‘The Master’

Runner-up: Denis Lavant, ‘Holy Motors’


Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ and Emmanuelle Riva, ‘Amour’


Supporting actress: Amy Adams, ‘The Master’

Runner-up: Anne Hathaway, ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ and ‘Les Miserables


Supporting actor: Dwight Henry, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’

Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, ‘Django Unchained’


Screenplay: Chris Terrio, ‘Argo’

Runner-up: David O. Russell, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’


Foreign-language film: ‘Holy Motors’

Runner-up: ‘Footnote’


Documentary/non-fiction film: ‘The Gatekeepers’

Runner-up: ‘Searching for Sugar Man’


Animation: ‘Frankenweenie’

Runner-up: ‘It’s Such a Beautiful Day’


New Generation: Benh Zeitlin, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’


Cinematography: Roger Deakins, ‘Skyfall’

Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., ‘The Master’


Editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, ‘Zero Dark Thirty’

Runner-up: William Goldenberg, ‘Argo’


Production design: Jack Fisk and David Crank, ‘The Master’

Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen, ‘Moonrise Kingdom’


Music score: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’

Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, ‘The Master’


The Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: ‘Leviathan’ (Lucien Castaing-Taylor)



Leave a Reply