Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association 2012

December 10th, 2012 - admin

Kathryn Bigelow’s ‘Zero Dark Thirty’ continued its strong performance during the early stages of the awards season by taking best film, director and actress (Jessica Chastain) when the Washington Film Critics became the latest to have they say.  Les Misérables picked-up best acting ensemble and supporting actress (Anne Hathaway) and there were predictable wins for Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) and Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master) for best actor and supporting actor respectively.  Lee Hirsch’s ‘Bully’ followed its success with the Las Vegas Film Critics by bagging best director.





Best Film: Zero Dark Thirty


Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)


Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)


Best Actress: Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)


Best Supporting Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)


Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)


Best Acting Ensemble: Les Misérables


Best Adapted Screenplay: David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)


Best Original Screenplay: Rian Johnson (Looper)


Best Animated Feature: ParaNorman


Best Documentary: Bully


Best Foreign Language Film: Amour


Best Art Direction: Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup – Production Designers; Peter Walpole, Rebecca Alleway – Set Decorators (Cloud Atlas)


Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)


Best Score: Jonny Greenwood (The Master)


The Joe Barber Award for Best Youth Performance: Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)


Leave a Reply